Skip to main content

Standards of Quality for Family Strengthening & Support hosted by The National Family Support Network & CFRA

Overview of the Standards of Quality

The nationally-adopted Standards of Quality for Family Strengthening & Support (the Standards) is designed to be used by all stakeholders -public departments, foundations, networks, community-based organizations, and families- as a tool for planning, providing, and assessing quality practice. The Standards have created a common language across different kinds of Family Strengthening and Family Support programs such as Family Resource Centers, home visiting programs, and child development programs. The Standards uniquely integrate and operationalize the Principles of Family Support Practice and the Strengthening Families Framework and Approach with its research-based evidence-informed 5 Protective Factors. The vision is that their implementation will help ensure that families are supported and strengthened through quality practice.  CFRA is proud to partner with the National Family Support Network to coordinate trainings for Networks and Family Resource Centers around the state of California.

A brief history on the Standards:

After conducting a research review of 17 different sets of Standards across the United States, and with the financial support from the S.H. Cowell Foundation, the leveraged support of California’s Office of Child Abuse Prevention through Strategies and the Center for the Study of Social Policy, the 10 networks whose representatives served on the Standards Development Committee and the vetting by over a 1,000 organizations across California, the Standards were established and approved in 18 months by the membership of the Networks Committee. Since the adoption in California in 2012, there have been 110 trainings with over 3,100 individuals certified.


The Standards are organized into 5 areas of practice with 15 Standards, each with Foundational and High Quality Indicators and implementation examples below:

Family Centeredness

Working with a family-centered approach that values families and recognizes them as integral to the Program.

Family Strengthening

Utilizing a family strengthening approach to support families to be strong, healthy, and safe, thereby promoting their success and optimal development.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Valuing, respecting, and embracing families’ diversity, and advancing equity and inclusion.

Community Strengthening

Developing a strong and healthy community by working collaboratively with various stakeholders and supporting families’ civic engagement, leadership development, and ability to effect systems change.


Looking at areas of Program strength, as well as areas for further development, in order to guide continuous quality improvement and achieve positive results for families.

Standards Certification Training

CFRA in partnership with the National Family Support Network can host a virtual 2-day Standards Certification Training for your Network and/or Organization. The cost for the training is between $75-$150 per person, depending on the number of attendees (minimum 24, maximum 36). Each participant who successfully completes the training receives a certificate from the National Family Support Network that is valid for 2 years. Please complete this form to request a training.

For more information on the Standards Certification Training contact: